Call for Papers


The Ninth Dialog System Technology Challenge (DSTC9)

Call for Workshop Papers



A two day wrap-up workshop will be held at AAAI 2021 to review the state-of-the-art systems, share novel approaches to the DSTC9 tracks, and discuss future directions for dialog technology. We invite papers reporting the systems submitted to DSTC9 as well as general technical papers for dialog technologies.

The information about the previous workshop (DSTC8) is found here.

Important Dates


* Paper submission deadline: Nov 17, 2010

* Paper acceptance notification: Dec 3, 2020

* DSTC9 workshop @ AAAI: Feb 8-9, 2021

Topics and Format


The main goal of this workshop is to share the results of four main tracks of DSTC9. We encourage all the teams participated in the challenge to submit their work to this workshop. In addition, any other work on dialog research is also welcome to the general technical track.

The submissions must follow the formatting guidelines for AAAI-21 (use the AAAI Author Kit). All submissions must be anonymous and conform to AAAI standards for double-blind review. The papers may consist of up to 7 pages of technical content plus up to two additional pages solely for references following the AAAI format.

Overview Paper Citation


If you'd like to cite the overview paper of DSTC8, please use the following BibTex entry:


title={The Ninth Dialog System Technology Challenge},

author={Chulaka Gunasekara, Abhinav Rastogi, Yun-Nung Chen, Luis Fernando D'Haro, Seokhwan Kim, Mihail Eric, Behnam Hedayatnia, Karthik Gopalakrishnan, Yang Liu, Chao-Wei Huang, Dilek Hakkani-tur, Baolin Peng, Jianfeng Gao, Jinchao Li, Lars Liden, Minlie Huang, Qi Zhu, Runze Liang, Ryuichi Takanobu, Shahin Shayandeh, Swadheen Shukla, Zheng Zhang, Shikib Mehri, Yulan Feng, Carla Gordon, Seyed Hossein Alavi, David Traum, Maxine Eskenazi, Ahmad Beirami, Eunjoon (EJ) Cho, Paul A. Crook, Ankita De, Alborz Geramifard, Satwik Kottur, Seungwhan Moon, Shivani Poddar, Rajen Subba},

journal={arXiv preprint},





Submit your paper through the Submission System.

DSTC9 Organizing Committee


- Challenge Chair: Chulaka Gunasekara - IBM Research AI, USA

- Workshop chair:

Abhinav Rastogi - Google Research, USA

Yun-Nung (Vivian) Chen - National Taiwan University, Taiwan

- Publication chair: Luis Fernando D'Haro - Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

- Publicity chair: Seokhwan Kim - Amazon Alexa AI, USA

For specific enquiries about DSTC9:

Please feel free to contact any of the Organizing Committee members directly.